Moon Base Alpha

The blog of a graphic designer, writer, comic letterer

Month to Month: Apr to May

I posted about my Goals for 2017 last month and I thought I would outline a more simpler post per month.

I’m calling it the Month to Month post. Here, I will outline what I am doing for each month as a goal.

WHAT I LEARNED

Last month, I ran everyday for 30 days. Well, I tried. As it turns out, I needed to do even more to even start a “streak”. Let me explain.

The term “Streaking” for runners means “to run consecutive days without stopping” as in no rest days. I would consider what I tried a 30-day streak but I couldn’t even get to day 14 without suffering an injury and strange side effects of running. Luckily, I didn’t suffer a knee injury but it would be preferred over the injury I did suffer. I have a runner’s blister or a friction blister. They are the pits because you can do anything to help them other than some balms and baths. They take forever to go away, at least mine is and therefore kept me from running consecutive days.

It started out well, I was running everyday for an average of 20 to 25 minutes, a good pace and I was eating well. Everything was going well, even my first rest day was good. I started up the second week and the fatigue started to kick in and I was pulling down the minutes on the treadmill. Then the first sign of stoppage happened, my bladder shrunk. Apparently this happens to runners, I am a hyper-sensitive person so I was a caught off guard with that happening. I would wake up in the middle of the night to have a bathroom break, every night for a week. Then I got a friction blister on my inner thigh, I can’t run otherwise I will just make it worse. Holy shit, you can get these from running? I started doing more research and the truth is running everyday has more problems with it than just running every other day. In fact, despite there being articles about the pros and cons of running everyday it hardly outweighs the amount of articles about injury.

If you want to do this, here’s how you do it.

  1. Don’t expect to start out with the amount of running you can do in session, axe that thought. If you average a 30 min run, half it and start with 15 mins a day. Running everyday is about the habit more than bettering a time.
  2. If you want this to turn into marathon training, you’ll have to do more than run a bit more everyday. Commit to a 30-day plan at a local gym instead, they will monitor you and help with muscle training and endurance rather. The observing part is key, if you are a beginner or novice even, you need someone trained in this skill to watch you.
  3. Read about “streaking” before you start. They really let you know what kind of shit you’ll be heading into like specific injuries and “runner’s face”.
  4. Get ready for the side effects and eat healthy, it will help with the energy.
  5. It helps if you have a goal marathon in mind rather than just doing it. I think if I were to try this again, I would rather a 3 month marathon training plan with a trainer. At least my injury days wouldn’t feel like a failure like it does here.

However the pros are just as interesting, some of them were kind of a big deal for me. The biggest of the pros was wakefulness. I think some people believe it to be “more energy” but the reality is it’s just clarity when awake. I was able to avoid coffee for three weeks just by running everyday. The clarity you get from running is insane, it doesn’t add to your clarity of vision or betterment of thinking but the fact that you can be awake and not feel groggy or sleepy is kind of nice. You also create an appetite and for my slightest of friends, it a great feeling to actually feel hungry and finish your meal when you make/get it. It does start turning into a con if you can’t keep yourself satisfied.

There isn’t much to it but I think I’ll stick to my twice a week runs, thanks. If you want to try it, research and call a personal trainer for help. End of discussion.

WHAT’S NEXT

This month I will be reading everyday for the month of May. This is gonna be great since I have a shelf full of books I haven’t read but I sure as hell SPENT MONEY FOR IT ALL. The stack end to end is nearly as tall as I am and is a mix of comics, novels, and manga.

JANUARY: 31 days off of Facebook

FEBRUARY: 28 days of selfies on Instagram

MARCH: 31 days of TV pilots

APRIL: 30 days of Running no

MAY: 31 days of Reading

JUNE: ?

JULY: ???

~

OCTOBER: Inktober

Not sure what to do for June. I might try movies or writing. Not sure which.

Information

This entry was posted on May 2, 2017 by in updates and tagged , , , , .

categories

smoonie’s tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

moon base archive

May 2017
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
